Discover the 5 essential qualities every modern HR leader needs to thrive in a dynamic business landscape. Elevate your HR strategy with Stratus HR.
Minimum Wage Increases - January 1, 2019
Along with 19 states, various cities and counties will see minimum wage increases in January, 2019. Employers should verify they're in compliance.
Other blogs you may be interested in:
Although the federal minimum wage of $7.25/hr has not changed since 2009, several states, cities, and counties will have minimum wage increases as of January 1, 2019.
States with Increasing Minimum Wage as of January 1, 2019
States whose minimum wage rates will increase as of January 1, 2019 include:
- Alaska: $9.89
- Arizona: $11.00; Flagstaff $12.00
- Arkansas: $9.25
- California: *see chart
- Colorado: $11.10
- Delaware: $8.75
- Florida: $8.46
- Maine: $11.00
- Massachusetts: $12.00
- Minnesota: $8.04 small employers; $9.86 large employers; $11.25 Minneapolis
- Missouri: $8.60
- Montana: $8.50
- New Jersey: $8.85
- New York (increasing Dec 31, 2018): *see chart
- Ohio: $8.55
- Rhode Island: $10.50
- South Dakota: $9.10
- Vermont: $10.78
- Washington: *see chart
Several other cities and counties will also see minimum wage increases as of January 1, 2019. Please see *chart for details.
States that Pay the Federal Minimum Wage
Although the majority of states have increased their local minimum wage rates, there are still plenty of states whose minimum wage is at the federal minimum rate of $7.25/hr. Those states include: Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
Local laws and ordinances may be different than this summary. If an employee works in an area with a higher minimum wage than the federal standard, the higher rate should be paid.
Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
Federal minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13/hr, provided that this hourly rate combined with tips equals at least the federal minimum wage. Several states require employers to pay tipped employees the full state minimum wage before tips, whereas others require employers to pay tipped employees a minimum cash wage above the federal minimum amount. See the state-specific laws in regard to tipped employees here.
Youth Minimum Wage
Workers under the age of 20 can be paid a minimum wage of $4.25/hr for the first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment when their work does not displace another worker. This applies to all employers covered by the FLSA, unless prohibited by State or local law. After 90 days, the teen must receive at least the federal minimum rate of $7.25/hr.
For questions about minimum wage or help with other wage and/or compliance matters, please contact our certified HR experts at HR@stratus.hr.
Various cities, counties, and 19 states will see minimum wage increases in January, 2019.
Click on the above *chart to view minimum wage rates as of January 1, 2019.
Source: ePlace Solutions Inc.