California Employers Now Must Provide Three Paid Sick Days

Do you have a business in California? If so, be prepared to offer yet another statewide employee benefit. Coming July 1, 2015, California employers will have to provide at least three paid sick days for employees that work 30 or more days in a year.

Proponents of the bill are excited for the public health advantage this will provide, particularly to low-income food service employees and their customers. Opponents to the bill, mostly small business owners, are concerned about feasibility.

Both part-time and full-time employees will be able to earn this paid leave at the accrual rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked, capping at 3 days per year.

California isn’t the first state to enact a required paid sick leave benefit; Connecticut beat them to the punch. However, Connecticut’s law only applies to large employers with 50+ employees and excludes manufacturers. California’s law applies to most employers regardless of size, including private, public, state, and municipalities.

For a detailed summary of the law, provided by CalSHRM’s State Legislative Director, Michael S. Kalt, Esquire, of Wilson Turner Kosmo LLP, click here.

Brad Fagergren, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Author Brad Fagergren, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

Brad has been a certified Senior Human Resources Professional (SPHR) since 2010. He services both local and multi-state client companies and is our in-house FMLA expert. Outside of work, you might spot Brad mentoring, chaperoning, watching, or participating in sports.

More posts by Brad Fagergren, SPHR, SHRM-SCP